The village Hořice lies about 12 km south-west of the town Český Krumlov near the small river Polečnice, 679 m a.s.l.

The first mention of the village is from the first half of the 13th century. One of its owners was Záviš of Falkenštejn.
The Passion plays were regularly played in Hořice between 1816 - 1947. The Lumiere brothers filmed this play in 1896. It was the first recording in the history of the European filmmaking and the first film which was taken in Bohemia. The tradition of the Passion plays was restored in the 1990's.

Most places of interest can be found in the small square. The unique system of seven stone public fountains and the octagonal pillory from the 16th century can be seen there. The two-aisled Late-Gothic St. Catherine's Church, standing on the lower side of the square, was founded in the 13th century and it was completely rebuilt at the end of the 15th century.